Covid-19: Bahrain lifts ban on travellers from Bangladesh, 15 countries

Three more countries are added to Bahrain's 'red list' amid the Covid crisis

Weeks after imposing a ban on travellers from 22 countries including Bangladesh to cut the transmission of Covid-19, authorities in Bahrain have withdrawn the restrictions-- but only for 16 countries.

In a latest move, the country decided to allow in it the residents from the 16 “red list” nations.However, in the process, it added three more countries to the list, reports the Saudi Gazette citing a statement carried by the Bahrain News Agency on Thursday.

Bahrain’s Civil Aviation Affairs said that it has updated its “red list” and added Georgia, Ukraine and Malawi to it in line with directives issued by the Government Executive Committee in response to recommendations made by the National Medical Taskforce for Combatting Covid-19.

Other than Bangladesh, the rest countries on the “red list” are Dominican Republic, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Sri Lanka and Tunisia.

Passengers arriving from “red list” countries, including those who have transited through them in the preceding 14 days, are prohibited from entry, with the exception of citizens or residents of Bahrain, the country’s Civil Aviation Affairs said in the statement.